We Were Made To Worship

I must say, probability the most impactful and engaging beginning of a book that I’ve ever read is from John Piper’s Let the Nations Be Glad! 2d ed.. It begins,

Missions is not the ultimate goal of the church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t. Worship is ultimate, not missions, because God is ultimate, not man. When this age is over, and the countless millions of the redeemed fall on their faces before the throne of God, missions will be no more. It is a temporary necessity. But worship abides forever.

In addition to worship being the ultimate goal of the church, this week I’ve been reflecting on the reality that worship is also the chief end of man. In a word, I was made ultimately to worship God. Everything else in my life is secondary.

I love how Psalms 9:13-14 says this.

Be gracious to me, O LORD!

O you who lift me up from the gates of death,

that I may recount all your praises,

that in the gates of the daughter of Zion

I may rejoice in your salvation.

As a member of the body of Christ, redeemed by Him, I am to proclaim the excellencies of the Lord Jesus in every of my life (not just via music).

 

9But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. (1 Peter 2:9)

What a glorious day it will be to behold the reality of being in the presence of the Lord fully and completely, proclaiming the glory and majesty of Jesus, the Lamb worthy to be slain.

 

11Then I looked, and I heard around the throne and the living creatures and the elders the voice of many angels, numbering myriads of myriads and thousands of thousands, 12saying with a loud voice, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and might and honor and glory and blessing!” 13And I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, and all that is in them, saying, “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!” 14And the four living creatures said, “Amen!” and the elders fell down and worshiped. (Rev. 5:11-14)

So as I contemplate about the reality that I was created first and foremost to worship God and reflect His glory to Him and to others, I’ve come to realize that my entire life needs to be oriented in this direction.

If anything causes me to impede or dissuade my worshiping of God, it must be thrown out at all cost. Thus, everything I do needs to done with the explicit recognition that my chief end in this life and the next is to glorify my Creator and Redeemer. Any dreams and/or desires that are governing my life need to be crushed and redirected toward Jesus Himself.

I do not think that this process will be overnight; nor will every moment of my life reflect this reality with me being fully conscious and purposeful towards this end. But I do believe that the more I contemplate, enjoy, and bask my thinking and aspirations in the Gospel, the more my life will be on path with God’s great propose for me to worship and enjoy Him forever.

About adoption through propitiation

I like theology. And I love my wife Katie. Enjoy my blog. View all posts by adoption through propitiation

2 responses to “We Were Made To Worship

  • Jim R.

    Being a guitar player who used worship to plant a church in Paris, how could I disagree?

  • rud Krisson

    Please just remember about :
    – Predestination of God’s love for all of us before the world.
    so that all of us really deeply understand that all of us, HIS creation, were made to worship HIM….worship can be explained more to having deeply relationship and walk day by day with HIM, so that we will be always in His amazing and great Love, and His strength, and His wisdom…

    and indeed, Father in Christ Jesus is worthy of all our praise, not because who we are ..but because who HE is…not because our good deed and what we did…but just because what HE has done for our eternal life…as HE really loves us as HIS beloved children and creation.

    I am the one that was predestined to be HIS beloved child, not because who i am…but absolutely because HIS eternal love for me…not because what i have done , but because HE has planned my days to be conformed and transformed since I was in the womb.

    love in Christ Jesus, our Father
    Rud

Leave a Reply

