The Cross of Jesus: An Eloquent Silence

Have you ever felt that God was most needed him to speak? That you really wanted him to speak— that you desperately needed him to speak—but that all you heard from him was the deafening sound of silence? When the pathologist tells you: “The tumor is malignant”. . . ‘When your ob-gyn says: “The baby you’re carrying has Down syndrome”. . . When you discover that your spouse has been unfaithful. . . or that you’ve been laid off. . . or that your teenager has been hit by a drunk driver? You come to God, laying bare your heart, and you cry out for explanation, “Why?” But all you get in response is silence. Have you ever felt that God was silent at the very moment you most needed him to speak?

Jesus Christ knew that very same experience when, on the cross, he cried out for explanation: “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?” What was the response of his Father? There was no response. No explanation. There was only silence. Absolute silence. Inescapable silence. But forever silence? No! We are here this morning because three days later his Father spoke. And his response came loudly and clearly when he raised his Son, Jesus, from the dead.

You see, friends, the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ tell us that God’s silence is never the silence of indifference, never the silence of a lack of compassion. Rather, God’s silence is always an eloquent silence—a silence that sets the stage for his eventual, and most powerful, speaking.

 

Quoted from Clowney, E. P., & Johnson, D. E. (2009).  Heralds of the king: Christ-centered sermons in the tradition of Edmund P. Clowney. Wheaton, Ill: Crossway Books, p. 207

Advertisements

About adoption through propitiation

I like theology. And I love my wife Katie. Enjoy my blog. View all posts by adoption through propitiation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: